Lt. Governor Jeff Colyer

Hear Lt. Governor Jeff Colyer, M.D. at the June 20th Elephant Club.

Lt. Governor Jeff Colyer, M.D. is our next speaker at the June 20th Elephant Club Meeting. He’ll provide details on the 2017 Legislative session including how the administration’s priorities played out.  Sign up now for the June 20th Elephant Club at YaYa’s.

Lieutenant Governor Jeff Colyer, M.D. is a fifth generation Kansan from Hays who is dedicated to making a difference in people’s lives on the personal, state, national and international level.

Dr. Colyer led the Kansas Medicaid transformation, which will save Kansans $1 billion over 10 years, while increasing services. This was done without reducing provider payments and has actually increased the number of Kansans covered by the new KanCare manged care program.

Dr. Colyer earned a bachelor’s degree in economics from Georgetown University, a master’s degree in international relations from Cambridge University, and a medical doctorate from University of Kansas, School of Medicine.

Dr. Colyer and his wife, Ruth, have been married since 1991 and have three daughters Alexandra, Serena and Dominique.

Over the last 25 years, Dr. Colyer has volunteered, as a surgeon, in dangerous war zones such as Afghanistan, Iraq, the Balkans, Libya, and Africa. He was an International Medical Corps volunteer and the only surgeon in southern Rwanda during the genocide that killed 800,000 people.

Dr. Colyer also served as a White House Fellow under President Ronald Reagan and President George H.W. Bush in international affairs.

At home in Kansas, Dr. Colyer is driven to serve his community. As a craniofacial/plastic surgeon he is passionate about reconstructing complex skull and facial deformities in children. Elected to the Kansas House of Representatives in 2006 and the Kansas Senate in 2008, Dr. Colyer has been a leader on taxes, fiscally responsible budgeting and healthcare policy.

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 3.34.26 PM

News Release – Resman Victory



Mike Jones, Chairman Johnson County Republican Party
February 14, 2017
John Resman elected to House District 121
John Resman, a retired Deputy Sheriff, was selected by the precinct committeemen and committeewomen of the 121st House District last night to succeed senior statesman in the Kansas House Rep. S Mike Kiegerl, R-Olathe, who resigned his House seat, effective February 15, after 13 years of service.
“I would like to thank Mike Kiegerl for the years of service he dedicated to Johnson County and the state of Kansas. He fought tirelessly to help children and families here in our state and we should all be grateful for his willingness to serve these many years,” said Mike Jones, Chairman of the Johnson County Republican Party. “We hope he enjoys his retirement with improved health and we appreciate him sharing his leadership abilities during his representation of the 121st House District.”
Resman was elected 16 to 3 with one abstention over Tony Wise.
“I am very thankful for the friendship and support of so many of my constituents over the last 13 years, and I owe a debt of gratitude to them, but most of all to my saintly wife of 54 years, Peggy, and my family. Without their support, I could not have stood up to the demands of the job. I’ve given it my best, but now it’s time to say goodbye. I know the 121st district will be well represented by John Resman and I look forward to seeing his success in the Kansas House,” said Representative S Mike Kiegerl.

Twenty votes from the House District 121 were cast, with 12 in person and eight by proxy.

“First, and foremost, I want to thank Representative Mike Kiegerl for having the confidence in me to follow in his footsteps in the Kansas House of Representatives. Having spent time with Mike over the past few months, I know that the House will miss his wit and wisdom. I also want to thank all the Committee men and women who supported me and came to the Convention this evening to cast their vote. It is an honor and privilege to represent the citizens of the 121st District and I am looking forward to continuing the good work Mike has done. I also look forward to meeting with citizens of the district to learn about their concerns and be their voice in Topeka,” said Representative-elect John Resman.
Kiegerl, who previously chaired Federal and State Affairs and the Chair of the Joint Committee on Children’s Issues, has chosen because of health reasons to not serve out his new term. Resman is expected to be sworn in on February 16, 2017 at 11 am.

JCRP Mission Statement

The mission of the Johnson County Republican Party is to ensure the election of Republican Candidates and be the “go to” resource for all things Republican for the people, candidates and elected officials in Johnson County Kansas.